Fiction & Documentary

Sam Morrill

Director of Curation, Vimeo

Morrill joined Vimeo in 2009 where he currently serves as its Director of Curation. From customer support to content acquisitions to curating Vimeo Staff Picks, he has experienced Vimeo’s growth and evolution from a variety of different angles. When he’s not watching videos, he’s probably traveling or working on his amateur golf swing. Morrill resides in his hometown of Brooklyn, New York.

Laurence Reymond

programmer, Director’s Fortnight

A film critic for several magazines and websites (including Cinéastes and Score) and member of the selection committee for various film festivals, Reymond previously worked for several Paris-based distribution companies. In 2011, she joined the team of the Director’s Fortnight in Cannes as a short film programmer and from 2012 to 2014 also worked as a programming coordinator for the Festival du nouveau cinéma in Montreal.

Neil Young

film journalist, curator, programmer and filmmaker

based in Sunderland (his home city) and Vienna. He writes regularly for several publications including The Hollywood Reporter and Sight and Sound. He attends around 25 film festivals each year and has served on dozens of juries since 2001 (including Semaine de la Critique). From 2011 to 2015 he was Director of the Bradford IFF at the UK’s National Media Museum. He now works for several festivals across Europe.

Animation Avantgarde

Réka Bucsi

independent animation filmmaker

Bucsi (*1988) graduated from the animation department of the Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design in Budapest. Her film Symphony no. 42 was shortlisted for the 87th Academy Awards. Her films were screened at the Berlinale, SXSW, Sundance, and Annecy and won more than 60 international awards. She was an artist-in-residence at the Open Workshop in Viborg and at Q21 in Vienna. Bucsi is represented as a director by Passion Pictures.

Lucia Cavalchini

director of Animasivo – Contemporary Animation Festival in Mexico City

Cavalchini holds a Master of Arts and Cultural Management from University of Barcelona. She moved to Mexico in 2007 and became festival director in 2010, her work focuses on the analysis and dissemination of Latin American animation. She also curates for experimental film events and produced the animation project Fantástico Encarnado which will also be presented during VIS.

Johann Lurf

artist & filmmaker

Lurf (*1982) studied at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and the Slade School of Fine Art in London and graduated from Harun Farocki’s class in 2009. He received the Austrian Outstanding Artist Award for film and participated in the Artist-in-Residence Programs at the MAK Center in Los Angeles, the SAIC in Chicago, and in Tokyo. His work has been shown internationally and recognized with awards in numerous exhibitions and festivals.

National competition

Delphine Jeanneret

programmer & curator

and member of the committee for the international competition at Kurzfilmtage Winterthur. She is also a member of the selection committee for Southeast Asian films at Open Doors, Festival del Film Locarno. In 2015, she launched the Festival Cinéma Jeune Public in Lausanne with independent films for young audiences. Since 2016, she is the festival advisor and distributor at the cinema department of Geneva School of Art & Design (HEAD).

Christoffer Olofsson

Programme Director of the Uppsala International Short Film Festival

Olofsson has been in the short film industry for over twenty years. He attended Stockholm University (Film Studies) and Uppsala University (Art History and Aesthetics), serves on the nomination committee for the Swedish National Film Awards, and advises several regional and national cultural boards and institutes. He also freelances as a film critic and curator.

Simon Hadler

journalist

Born in 1976 in Vienna, Hadler studied Communication Studies, Political Sciences, and Cultural Anthropology in Vienna and Lisbon, focussing on migration research. In 1999, he started working as an editor for the online news platform ORF.at and has been its senior culture editor since 2009. Hadler has received several awards for his coverage of social and socio-political events. He lives with his wive and two sons in Vienna.

Music video competition

Florian Pochlatko

filmmaker

Sometimes studies Directing at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna and Critical Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Winner of the Austrian Music Video Award 2016 for God of Ghosts/Nu Renegade by Zebra Katz. Selected Filmography: Heat the Water – Koenig Leopold (2012), Maybes (2012), Freiheit für Rosalie (2009), Ozonbomben (2007).

Amira Ben Saoud

journalist

She is a Latinist and book author, party guru and retired filmmaker. As a journalist she focuses on pop culture, especially music and digital cultures.

Krzysztof Sienkiewicz

festival manager and music & programme coordinator of ZubrOFFka

International Short Film Festival in Bialystok. He is a resourceful promoter of film culture, coordinator of the platform “Film Podlasie in Attack!,” organizer of film workshops, and film curator. As an amateur filmmaker, he is the co-author of shorts and documentaries, and he is involved in community activities in the beloved border region that promote creative people from Eastern Europe.

Youth jury

© Joachim Traun

Lillian-Chiara Schätti, Anna Lang, Magdalena Wielander, Sophie Kuttner, Claudio Reiter

This year’s youth jury is composed of cinephile students of the Höhere Graphische Bundeslehr- und Versuchsanstalt and the Parhamergymnasium in Vienna’s 17th district. In their joint viewing of Austrian short films, the fourteen- to twenty-year-olds learn to appreciate filmic works that operate off the mainstream and may not reflect the students’ normal viewing habits. The wide range of films making up the Austrian Competition this year creates the basis for a considered examination of the images and encourages analyses, discussions, and an evaluation of the films. The project is concluded by the festival, in which the youth jury chooses its winner in the overall award ceremony.

This year’s members of the youth jury are Adriana Hsu, Sophie Kuttner, Anna Lang, Erik Permetov, Viktoria Quan, Claudio Reiter, Lillian-Chiara Schätti und Magdalena Wielander.

Supported by:

Fiction & Documentary

Sam Morrill

Chefkurator von Vimeo

Morrill begann bei Vimeo 2009 und ist gegenwärtig Chefkurator der Plattform. Von der Kundenbetreuung über die Content-Akquise bis zur Kuratierung der Vimeo Staff Picks erlebte er das Wachstum von Vimeo von verschiedenen Seiten. Morrill lebt in seiner Heimat Brooklyn, New York – und wenn er nicht gerade Videos schaut, ist er wahrscheinlich auf Reisen oder arbeitet an seinem Abschlag beim Golf.

Laurence Reymond

Programmerin der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs

hat lange Zeit für Verleihfirmen in Paris gearbeitet und ist heute als Filmkritikerin für mehrere Magazine und Websites (darunter Cinéastes und Score) sowie in Auswahlkomitees verschiedener Filmfestivals aktiv. Seit 2011 ist sie als Kurzfilmprogrammerin im Team der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes aktiv, 2012–14 koordinierte sie zudem das Programm des Festival du nouveau cinéma in Montréal.

Neil Young

Filmjournalist, Kurator, Programmer und Filmemacher

lebt in seiner Heimatstadt Sunderland und in Wien. Er schreibt regelmäßig für Publikationen wie den Hollywood Reporter und Sight and Sound, besucht rund 25 Filmfestivals pro Jahr und diente seit 2001 in Dutzenden von Jurys (inkl. Semaine de la Critique in Cannes). Von 2011 bis 2015 als Direktor des Bradford IFF im britischen National Media Museum aktiv, arbeitet er heute für mehrereFestivals in Europa.

Animation Avantgarde

Réka Bucsi

unabhängige Animationsfilmemacherin

Bucsi (*1988) studierte Animation an der Moholy-Nagy Universität für Kunst und Design in Budapest. Ihr Abschlussfilm Symphony no. 42 war auf der Shortlist für die 87. Oscars. Ihre Filme liefen bei der Berlinale, SXSW, Sundance sowie in Annecy und gewannen mehr als 60 internationale Preise. Auslandsstipendien führten sie nach Viborg und ins Q21 nach Wien. Bucsi wird als Regisseurin von Passion Pictures vertreten.

Lucia Cavalchini

Direktorin von Animasivo– Contemporary Animation Festival in Mexiko City

Cavalchini machte ihren Master in Kunst- und Kulturmanagement in Barcelona, zog 2007 nach Mexiko und wurde 2010 Direktorin des Festivals. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Analyse und Verbreitung lateinamerikanischer Animationen. Sie kuratiert auch für Experimentalfilm-Events und produzierte zuletzt das Projekt Fantástico Encarnado, das auch während VIS zu sehen ist.

Johann Lurf

Künstler & Filmemacher

Lurf (*1982) studierte an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien und der Slade School of Fine Art in London. 2009 machte er seinen Abschluss bei Harun Farocki. Er erhielt den österreichischen Outstanding Artist Award für Film, Auslandsstipendien führten ihn u.a. nach Los Angeles (MAK Center), Chicago (SAIC) und Tokio. Seine Arbeiten wurden international in zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Festivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet.

Österreich Wettbewerb

Delphine Jeanneret

Programmerin & Kuratorin

und Selektionsmitglied für den internationalen Wettbewerb der Kurzfilmtage Winterthur. Sie ist im Auswahlkomitee für südostasiatische Filme bei den Open Doors in Locarno und startete 2015 das Festival Cinéma Jeune Public in Lausanne mit Independentfilmen für ein junges Publikum. Seit 2016 ist sie Festivalberaterin und Verleiherin für das Filmdepartment der Genfer Hochschule für Kunst & Design (HEAD).

Christoffer Olofsson

Programmdirektor des Uppsala International Short Film Festival

Olofsson arbeitet seit mehr als 20 Jahren in der Kurzfilmbranche. Er studierte Filmwissenschaft in Stockholm sowie Kunstgeschichte und Ästhetik in seiner Heimatstadt Uppsala, zudem ist er im Nominierungskomitee für den Schwedischen Filmpreis und berät regionale und nationale Kulturausschüsse und -institute. Freiberuflich arbeitet er auch als Filmkritiker und Kurator.

Simon Hadler

Journalist

Hadler, geboren 1976 in Wien, studierte Kommunikations-, Politikwissenschaft und Kulturanthropologie mit Schwerpunkt Migration in Wien und Lissabon. Seit 1999 ist er Redakteur bei ORF.at, seit 2009 leitender Kulturredakteur. Für seine Reportagen zu sozialen und gesellschaftspolitischen Themen wurde er mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und zwei Söhnen in Wien.

Musikvideo Wettbewerb

Florian Pochlatko

Filmemacher

Studiert manchmal Regie an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien und Critical Studies an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Gewann den Österreichischen Musikvideopreis 2016 für God of Ghosts/Nu Renegade von Zebra Katz. Ausgewählte Filmographie: Heat the Water – Koenig Leopold (2012), Erdbeerland (2012), Freiheit für Rosalie (2009), Ozonbomben (2007).

Amira Ben Saoud

Journalistin

Sie ist Latinistin und Buchautorin, Partyguru und Filmemacherin außer Dienst. Als Journalistin legt sie ihren Fokus auf Popkultur, insbesondere Musik und digitale Kulturen.

Krzysztof Sienkiewicz

Festivalleiter sowie Musik- und Programmkoordinator von ZubrOFFka,

dem internationalen Kurzfilmfestival in Bialystok. Er ist ein tatkräftiger Förderer der Filmkultur, Koordinator der ostpolnischen Plattform „Film Podlasie in Attack!“, Organisator von Filmworkshops und Filmkurator. Als Amateurfilmer wirkte er an Kurzfilmen und Dokus mit, und als Fan der Grenzregion ist er in Aktivitäten zur Unterstützung osteuropäischer Kreativer involviert.

Jugendjury

© Joachim Traun

Lillian-Chiara Schätti, Anna Lang, Magdalena Wielander, Sophie Kuttner, Claudio Reiter

Die diesjährige Jugendjury besteht aus filminteressierten SchülerInnen der Höheren Graphischen Bundeslehr- und Versuchsanstalt sowie dem Parhamergymnasium im 17. Wiener Gemeindebezirk. Bei gemeinsamen Sichtungen österreichischer Kurzfilme lernen die 14- bis 20-jährigen Jugendlichen mit filmischen Arbeiten umzugehen, die sich abseits des Mainstreams und des eigenen Medienverhaltens bewegen. Die große Bandbreite an Filmen, die den Österreich Wettbewerb heuer ausmacht, schafft die Basis für eine reflektierte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Gesehenen und regt zur Analyse, Diskussion und Bewertung der Filme an. Den Abschluss des Projekts bildet das Festival, bei dem die Jugendjury im Rahmen der Preisverleihung ihren Siegerfilm kürt.

Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury sind in diesem Jahr Adriana Hsu, Sophie Kuttner, Anna Lang, Erik Permetov, Viktoria Quan, Claudio Reiter, Lillian-Chiara Schätti und Magdalena Wielander.

Unterstützt von: