Back to homepage


ÖW 1 – 4

The tradition of short films in Austria is of course a long and venerable one, but for decades it has stood out — even in the noisy European landscape — as a place where challenging experimentation and bold originality are not just tolerated but actively promoted and supported (and forever may this be the case!).” (Neil Young)

This year, the Austrian Competition includes 24 films, with the participation of 15 female and 15 male directors. The jury — consisting of Sanne Jehoul, co-director of the Glasgow Short Film Festival, Iranian-born and Vienna-based film scholar Tara Najd Ahmadi, and Texas-born and Vienna-based director and writer Lawrence Tooley — awards the Austrian Short Film Award which is endowed with € 5,000 as well as the Jury Prize which is endowed with € 3,000. The Elfi Dassanowsky Award for the best female director is awarded across competitions. All awarded films are eligible for the Academy Awards®, the European Film Award and the Austrian Film Award.


Bojana Bregar, Daniel Ebner, Clara Schermer, Neil Young


Bojana Bregar, Daniel Ebner, Clara Schermer, Neil Young

Head of Selection

Neil Young