AA Animation Avantgarde – International Competition

Since 2010, the international competition Animation Avantgarde has been pursuing the idea of placing experimental works and animation films in dialog with each other, thereby focusing on works that avoid the beaten path. We seek formal and narrative innovation and aspire to achieve the greatest possible diversity in terms of content and technology. We also pay attention to a good mix: in addition to the emphasis on animated experiments, there are also narrative formats, works of socio-political relevance and refreshingly entertaining music videos.” (Wiktoria Pelzer, Thomas Renoldner)


764 films watched 29 films selected by 10 female & 20 male directors from 17 countries

To be awarded: ASIFA Austria Award € 2,000, donated by ASIFA Austria

Jury Prize € 1,050 & a one-month residency in Vienna, donated by Q21/​MuseumsQuartier Wien

To be awarded across competitions: Elfi Dassanowsky Award for the Best Female Director € 1,000, donated by the Elfi Dassanowsky Foundation

Awarded films are eligible for: Academy Awards®, European Film Awards & BAFTA Awards


Laura Egger-Karlegger, Thomas Renoldner, Wiktoria Pelzer


Thomas Renoldner, Wiktoria Pelzer

Head of Selection

Thomas Renoldner, Wiktoria Pelzer

Program partner

ASIFA Austria